Synopsis:  A woman with a seemingly perfect life is carrying a few secrets…

Have you ever seen a movie or picked up a book about a perfect family?  They have everything–great job, great cars, lots of money, great spouse.  You know the deal.  But at least 98% of the time, you know that is nothing more than a well crafted lie.  But what makes a person want such an impossible thing?  Something like that can’t last forever.  That’s what our main character, Ani, learns in the pages of this book.  And it’s quite a journey..

 

This book has often been compared to “Gone Girl”.  And the 2 books do have a lot in common (though I’ve never really read “Gone Girl” the book).  They both feature unlikable, yet interesting female protagonists.  They both include non-linear storytelling.  And they both contain disturbing content.  But I didn’t “root” for Amy in the movie.  I kinda did root for Ani though in this book.  She went thru a lot of horrific things in high school, things nobody should go thru.  It explains why she is the way she is now at 28.  I may not have liked Ani very much, but I felt really bad for her as the story went on.  I almost stopped reading because that’s how shallow, mean and self-centered Ani was.  She was almost unbearable.  But I stuck with it, and I’m glad I did.

 

The weird thing is the Ani character is the only one that is actually fleshed out.  The others are kind of 2-dimensional. I guess it’s understandable because this is Ani’s story.  It’s really about her trying to move on with her life.  And these people and things in her life–her friends, fiance, coworkers, career etc–are really just fixtures.  Props for holding up this perfect image Ani has spent her whole adult life crafting. The constant flashbacks between high school and current times were confusing and annoying at first.  But once again, they became less annoying and more important as the story progressed.  Plus, I really didn’t care much for the secondary characters in “Luckiest Girl Alive” apart from Mr. Larson.  He seemed to be the only decent person in the book.  And the only one who helped Ani.

 

I didn’t always understand the decisions Ani made.  I don’t wanna spoil anything, so you’ll have to read the book.   Plus, the ending felt a bit weird.  I don’t know how I feel about it.  I’ll probably read it again to be sure.

 

All in all, “Luckiest Girl Alive” is a good read.  If you’re okay with stories about unlikable people whom you can somewhat understand, then you should give this a try.  Be warned, it contains very adult material.  I’d give it a 7/10.  Buy it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble or other bookstores.

 

 

Leave a Reply

