Cast : Zac Efron as Cole, Wes Bentley as James, Emily Ratajkowski as Sophie

Synopsis:  A young man with a not-so-good job dreams of becoming a professional D.J.

 

Ah, cliches.  You know why they exist?  Because they are often true.  You should follow your dreams.  You absolutely should be yourself.  Live life to the fullest.  I don’t know about love conquering all–depends on the circumstances.  But people generally get tired of cliches when it comes to movies–or so they say.  You can still enjoy a movie that is predictable.  I kinda enjoyed “We Are Your Friends”.  But I felt like some things were missing.

 

I think that Zac Efron is a good actor.  I’ve liked most of the movies I’ve seen him in.  But I never really got to know his character, Cole.  He didn’t do much in the movie but play music, do drugs and romance Sophie.  Zac Efron’s acting isn’t to blame.  He was pretty decent in the role.  I think it had more to do with the way his character was written. But if he ever decided to give up acting for a professional D.J. career, he could definitely do it.  That’s how good he was at it in the movie.  The other main characters–James and Sophie– in the movie had a bit more depth to them surprisingly.  I think Wes Bentley was very good playing the older DJ/mentor of Cole.  He was a jerk for a lot of the movie, but you didn’t hate him.  They were definitely times when you should’ve.  Emily Ratajkowski did a nice job playing Sophie.  Her character was a bit more complex than I was expecting. 

 

I think I’m forgetting the real main character of the movie–the music.  It’s easily the best part of “We Are Your Friends”.  I even enjoyed the song of the same title that played in the opening credits.  When I listened to it, it felt like I was in another world.  That’s what music feels like in general.  It really enhanced the scenes of the movie.  But I didn’t always get that feeling when the music wasn’t playing.

 

“We Are Your Friends” isn’t a bad film.  It just felt like something was missing.  I give it a 5/10.  You can find it on Google Play, Netflix or Amazon.

Leave a Reply

