Cast: Denzel Washington as Alonzo Harris, Ethan Hawke as Jake Hoyt

Synopsis:  A seasoned detective takes a young rookie for a crazy ride as he trains him to be a narcotics detective.

 

What is a training day like?  I haven’t got the slightest clue, but I’m sure it’s nothing like what happens in this movie.  But maybe not?  From the moment Jake (Hawke) and Alonzo (Washington) meet, you know that it’s going to be an interesting ride.  Craziness will ensue.  How much craziness?  I won’t say just yet, but here’s my review.

 

Both Ethan Hawke and Denzel Washington are incredible in “Training Day”.   But it’s Denzel Washington who is the star of the show.  Well, he is literally, LOL.  I think his performance was the best.  He’s created a crazy, unpredictable villain that sucks you in from the moment you meet him. Alonzo was scary, smart and more complicated than meets the eye.  No wonder he was nominated for an Oscar.  Ethan Hawke also did a great job as Jake Hoyt.  He learns a lot of hard, yet interesting lessons about life during his day with Alonzo. And it was interesting to see how Jake copes with things.  He’s probably thinking “What did I get myself into?”.  Even though I think Washington played the more interesting character, I can identify more with Jake’s character.  His character is much more relatable, but I guess that was the point.  We’re more likely to behave like Jake than Alonzo.  Their scenes together though are electric.  It’s hard to pick which one is best, but you’ll have plenty to choose from.

 

The film itself is very good, of course.  That’s because of an action-packed script written by David Ayers and solid direction by Antoine Fuqua.  There were many twists and turns, and it was hard to predict what would happen next.  I enjoyed it very much, but sometimes things were a little too confusing.  Maybe an extra viewing would help.

 

Action-packed, intense and it makes you think–a formula for a good time.  But as I said earlier, it was a bit too much at times.  But I do recommend this movie, and give it a 7.5 out of ten.  It is available on Google Play and Netflix.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

