Cast of voices:  Ginnifer Goodwin as Judy Hopps, Jason Bateman as Nick Wilde, Shakira as Gazelle. Idris Elba as Bogo, Jonah Hill as

Synopsis: Welcome to Zootopia, where all animals can live in peace and harmony.  But someone doesn’t want it to stay that way…

 

It’s been a while since I’ve watched a family-friendly film.  But then a friend of mine invited me to see “Zootopia”.  I honestly expected to be bored by it, for some reason.  Surprisingly, I wasn’t.  It turned out to be a wonderful film.  It had a ton of important life messages–believing in yourself, fighting prejudices and stereotypes, actually getting to know people,  being kind and realizing you can’t solve every problem alone.  Here’s the rest of the review

 

Like I said, I haven’t really seen a family film in a long while–except for maybe 5 minutes of one a few months ago.  So I didn’t have a lot of expectations when it came to that.  But all the voice actors did a decent job.  I enjoy the animations, though.  I thought it was very cute and (kinda) realistic.  The main character, Judy Hopps, was my favorite character.  I liked how bright-eyed and optimistic she was.  Then when things got more complicated towards the middle of the movie, she stopped being optimistic and started becoming more realistic.  Especially the scene where a press conference is given about certain animals.  She was so sad, and I felt bad for her.  Judy really wanted to make a difference, and she did by the end of the movie.  Officer Hopps was–dare I said it–pretty human.  Which is a bit strange to say since there are no humans in this film…..

 

The animation in “Zootopia” wasn’t super-spectacular, but it was very nice to look at.  The writing crew–which included Byron Howard–all did an incredible job with the story.  I liked the balance of it all.  It had jokes and situations that grown-ups could laugh at and understand.  Then it had very kid-friendly situations, like the play at the beginning.  Howard and Jared Bush were the directors of “Zootopia”.  Hats off to them for making an enjoyable movie.  But  I felt that the running time was a little too long.  They could’ve shaved at least 15 minutes off the running time.  The stereotyping was annoying, but I guess that was the point.   And where were the birds, reptiles and amphibians?

 

All in all, I  enjoyed “Zootopia”.  It was funny, and fairly original and very cute.  I think there are very important messages in this movie that we all need to learn.  It’s a little something for the whole family.   I recommend this film, and give it 8 out of 10.  It’s in theaters right now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

