Synopsis:  This book is based on the popular Instagram account, @crazyjewishmom.

Author: Kate Siegel

 

Helicopter mom?  Have you ever heard of the term?  I have for brief moments in time, but I didn’t know what it meant until recently.  That’s what “Mother, Can You Not?” is about.  It takes the phrase “helicopter mom” to a whole new, side-splitting level.  I also reminded me a bit of my own childhood, and how I was raised.  Another Facebook add to the list.

 

I must say that I enjoyed every second of “Mother, Can You Not?”.  Both Kate Siegel and Kim Friedman are two of the funniest people I’ve ever come across.  It’s the perfect book for your first real audio experience.  Well, I had to use that Audible membership sometime.  I’m sure it would’ve just as good being read the the old-fashioned way, but there’s just something about audio.  Anyway, I enjoyed the relationship between mother and daughter.  You can easily tell that Kim and Kate care about and love each other greatly.  They seem to be the best of friends.  Some of these stories reminded me of my dearly departed grandmother, who was like a mother to me.  She and Kim could’ve easily gotten along.  They have/had so much in common.

“Mother, Can You Not?” is absolutely hilarious.  I don’t remember the last time I laughed so much while reading a book.  Seriously, these two are so funny, it (almost) hurts.  Kate Siegel is a great writer, and I hope she continues to do so.  She and her mother are a fantastic duo.  But it can’t be funny all the time.  There were more somber stories in the book.  For example, the story of Kate’s first heartbreak.  That story was a bit too relatable. Right down to my loved ones and not-so-loved-ones telling me to back off. It made me really sad.   They were more hopeful stories, too.  It was also thought-provoking.

 

Other than a few sad moments, I really enjoyed this book.  What was my biggest problem with this book?  It ended.  But that’s what the Internet is for, partly.  Get ready to laugh like you never laughed before.  I highly recommend it, and give it a 9 out of 10.  “Mother, Can You Not?” is available on Amazon, Audible, Barnes & Noble and other bookstores.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

