Cast:  Gal Gadot as Diana/Wonder Woman, Chris Pine as Steve Trevor, Connie Nielsen as Hippolyta, Robin Wright as Antiope

Synopsis: A story about an Amazonian war princess who becomes the superhero Wonder Woman.

What’s one thing that superhero movies have in common?  It’s all of the remakes.  The vast majority of these movies have numerous remakes, rewrites and sequels.   The same can be said about most of today’s movies.  But anyways.  They’ve never done a Wonder Woman remake.  Not that I could find, at least. I was excited to learn that they’d be making one for Wonder Woman.  Plus I’m crazy about superhero movies.  So let’s begin our review.

 

For a while, the Interweb seriously doubted that Gal Gadot was right for the role of Wonder Woman.  Those reasons really didn’t make sense.  After seeing this movie, they made even less sense.  In fact, I thought she was absolutely perfect for the role.  She was able to play a woman who was incredibly strong, smart, vulnerable and very naive.  Often at the same time.  She was a lot of fun to watch.  I liked seeing her relationships in the movie, particularly with Steve.   Their love story was cute and unique.  Connie Nielsen was good as Hippolyta, Diana’s mother.  Robin Wright also shined big time as Antiope, Dana’s aunt/commander.  That first battle scene was amazing!  I wish there were more scenes with her.

I’ll admit that I don’t know much about the Marvel vs DC battle.  In fact, I’ve only watched one DC movie–Batman vs Superman.  It was good, but not memorable.  Director Patty Jenkins did a marvelous job with this movie.  I liked how she devoted a decent amount of time on Diana’s childhood.  Not the typical skimming of the childhood flashbacks we normally see in films like this.  Seeing Diana explore a different new world was also fun to watch.  Everything so new and exciting.  Speaking of exciting, let’s talk about those fight scenes!  Especially the first big one on the beach.  It was one of the best ones I’ve ever seen.  But why was the whole movie so (literally) dark?  That and the occasional slow pacing were the only problems with the movie.  They certainly didn’t keep me from enjoying out.

 

Overall, Wonder Woman was a brilliant, well-acted movie.  The best part is that we only have to wait until November to see Diana/Wonder Woman in another DC Comics film, Justice League.  Until then, I highly recommend Wonder Woman.  I give it a 9 out of 10.  It’s playing in theaters now.