Synopsis:  A young woman is haunted as secrets from her past threaten her new life.

 

Everyone has their secrets, even the most open of people.  Anna Blackwell is no exception.  She’s living a fabulous life.  Married to the man of her dreams, great job co-running the family business.  Living a big, expensive seaside home.  Anna is happier than she’s ever been.  Until a gruesome text message is sent to her anonymously.  That person knows far more about her than she’s willing to reveal.  He knows things that can ruin her life forever….

 

They say not to judge a book by its cover.  When I saw the cover of “The Millionaire’s Wife”, I assumed that Anna was some sort of spy or something.  But she wasn’t.  Anna was a very likable heroine.  Smart, strong, independent.  But she was someone with a heavy burden.  Reading about her inner struggles was very interesting, and it made me feel very sorry for her.  At first, I didn’t understand why she kept these secrets from her husband.  But as I got further along in the book, I completely understood why she did.  I don’t blame her for keeping them.  Will himself was a kind, understand and compassionate man.  But he, like Anna, was someone who knew how to take charge when he needed to.  I understood his reactions in the book, too.  The villains in the book were not who I expected them to be.  Man, those people were sick and disgusting!  I felt sorry for Anna, Will and their families.

 

Shalani Boland wrote one hell of a page-turner.  The start of the novel was brilliant, even though I did not know how it fit in at first.  The pacing was near-perfect.  The characters all kept you guessing until the very end.  We see the story being told from two points-of-view–past Anna & present Anna.  It really seemed that I was reading about 2 different women.  It was a very intriguing plot point.  You actually felt sorry for Anna’s ex until you realized who he really was.  Then you wanted her to run away from him and never look back!  I tried to turn off my Kindle app, but I just had to know what would happen next.  I’ll definitely be reading Boland’s other books in the future.

 

But sometimes, I wish that Anna would’ve done things a little differently.  Sometimes, I was a little frustrated with her.  Maybe things would turned out differently.  But apart from that minor complaint,  I thoroughly enjoyed reading “The Millionaire’s Wife”.  It was action-packed, scary and overall entertaining read.  I highly recommend this book and give it a 9.5 out of 10.  You can find it on amazon, Barnes & Noble and other bookstores.